Mike Pettry | Composer

The Light Princess

music and lyrics by Mike Pettry

book by Lila Rose Kaplan

2013 and 2014 productions at American Repertory Theater

2015 production at New York's New Victory Theater (NY Times Critic's Pick)

Productions at South Coast Rep, Slate Theater, Summer Theatre of New Canaan

A whimsical tale of a Princess who is cursed to not have physical or emotional gravity. The King and Queen must find the Princess' gravity before her 16th birthday, else the kingdom will fall into the hands of the Witch that cursed her. Based on the short story by George MacDonald, The Light Princess is written for younger audiences, but is safe for adults as well.

Richly imagined and delightfully acted, this 70-minute production proves unexpected in almost every way.
— New York Times

"A fiction that charms." - Huffington Post

"An astonishingly delightful new musical. ... The Light Princess is bound to leave everyone who sees it feeling uplifted. Before kids learn to defy gravity at another musical that's been playing uptown, they should experience the delights of The Light Princess for an unforgettable first taste of live musical theater." 
- Theatermania


Trailer and reviews from the 2013 ART production:


The last song of eddie scourge

The Last Song of Eddie Scourge - A new musical by Eli Bolin and Mike Pettry

music lyrics and book by Mike Pettry and Eli Bolin

Eddie Scourge is a real bastard. He hasn’t had a hit since his best friend and songwriting partner Jeff Morley O.D.ed 15 years ago. Notorious for his bad attitude and the horrible way he treats everyone around him, Eddie only emerges from his self-imposed exile once a year to put on a corporate-sponsored televised Christmas special. This year, he’s faced with an ultimatum: update his dusty show with a new hit song, or be cancelled. In this new musical by Eli Bolin (Found) and Mike Pettry (The Pirate Princess), a late night of songwriting brings out all the ghosts of Eddie’s rock ‘n’ roll past, present, and future.

Listen to the full 2017 cast album here or on Spotify!

Below are videos from our concert at 54 Below/Feinstein's in NYC — click here to watch the whole concert.


Eddie Cooper (Little Shop of Horrors)
Max Crumm (Disaster!, Grease)
L.R. Davidson (Death for Five Voices)
Greg Hildreth (Frozen, Cinderella)
Charlie Pollock (Violet, Lazarus)
Allison Posner (Volleygirls)
Jed Resnick (Avenue Q)
Barrett Wilbert Weed (Mean Girls, Heathers, Found)



West Virginia


book music and lyrics by Mike Pettry

2012 ASCAP Foundation Musical Theatre Workshop participant with Stephen Schwartz

2012 ASCAP Foundation Harold Adamson Lyric Award recipient

Three high school seniors try to escape their West Virginia roots by making a short film, but are soon seduced by the idea of starting a porno production company. For a small fee, locals get to act in pornos that the kids write, film, and produce. They get to refine their filmmaking skills and save money for college, but find themselves growing up much too fast. 


Alex Brightman (Beetlejuice, School of Rock, Documentary Now! (Original Cast Album: Co-op))
Hannah Elless (Hadestown, Godspell)
F. Michael Haynie (Wicked, Dogfight)
Lindsay Mendez (Carousel (Tony Award), Dogfight, Godspell, Wicked)
Lorinda Lisitza (Triumphant Baby, The Joe Iconis Christmas Spectacular)
Jason “Sweet Tooth” Williams (Be More Chill, Bloodsong of Love)



Mechanical, a new musical by Sara Cooper and Mike Pettry

music by Mike Pettry

book and lyrics by Sara Cooper

2018 Queens Council on the Arts grant recipient

MECHANICAL is a musical about a high school election, robots, and misinformation in the age of social media. When Ellen learns that she is part human and part Artificially Intelligent American (AIA), she runs for junior class president against Johnny, a popular bully who is running on an anti-AIA platform. Believing in her capacity to change the status quo, she instead finds herself at the mercy of social media image, a student body bent on mass consumption, and a sea of rapidly spreading misinformation.

Check out the press release for our readings in September 2018.

Demos coming soon — in the meantime here are videos from our 2018 concert at Dixon Place.


The Pirate princess

music and lyrics by Mike Pettry

book by Lila Rose Kaplan

2015 Labworks residency at New Victory Theatre

2015 Production at American Repertory Theater

From the creators of the A.R.T.’s hit The Light Princess comes a swashbuckling adventure on the high seas. When a giant sea monster destroys their ship, seafaring twins Violet and Victor are separated. Lost in a world of rowdy pirates and lovesick royals, the siblings must be crafty and brave to reunite. Adapted from Shakespeare's Twelfth Night, this family musical is appropriate for all ages.



Things I Left On Long Island, a new musical by Sara Cooper and Mike Pettry

music by Mike Pettry

book and lyrics by Sara Cooper

Things I Left On Long Island is the story of 28-year-old Marny, who moves back home to live with her mother after finding a lump in her breast. Although it turns out she doesn’t have cancer after all, she has given up her job, her fiancé, & her apartment in New York City. Now, she has to figure out what she wants to do with her life. While Marny tries to tell her story, the other members of her family compete for the audience’s attention so they can tell their own stories about family secrets, breast cancer, & what it means to be a woman. Marny finds herself growing up in the least likely of places: her childhood home.


Rin Allen (Gotham, Dracula)
Cara Samatha (American Idol)
Noah Zachary (I Am Anne Hutchinson/I Am Harvey Milk)
Victoria Huston-Elem (Finding Neverland, The Addams Family)
L.R. Davidson (The First Gentleman, Full House)


The time travelers convention

The Time Traavelers Convention, a new musical by Heidi Heilig and Mike Pettry

music by Mike Pettry

book and lyrics by Heidi Heilig

A new musical in which three nerdy friends hold a Time Travelers Convention in their school library, hoping someone from the future will come and make their dreams come true. Originally developed at the NYU Graduate Musical Theatre Writing Program.

Listen to the full radio-play version of The Time Travelers Convention below, complete with including fully orchestrated songs, dialogue, and sound effects.

Julia - Phoebe Strole (Spring Awakening, 30 Rock)
Sam - Stephanie Spano
Greg - Mike Pettry (Documentary Now!)
Edwards - Jeff Essex (Dirty Rotten Scoundrels)
Dr. Hammer - Lorinda Lisitza (Triumphant Baby)
Romi - Nick Blaemire (Godspell, Dogfight, Tick Tick Boom)

cover art and additional production stuff by Bret Heilig